The West Coast Electric Power Trust was formed in 1992 as a consequence of the passing of the Energy Companies Act 1992.

The Trustees hold the shares of Westpower Ltd and the associated companies on behalf of the electricity consumers of the West Coast. 

Trust elections are held every two years, with three members of the Trust retiring in rotation prior to each election. Retiring trustees are eligible to make themselves available for re-election. 

The current trustees who represent West Coast power consumers are: 

  • Ian Hustwick - Deputy Chairman
  • Kevin Brown Q.S.M. - Trustee
  • Greg Topp - Chairman
  • Bernie Lee - Trustee
  • Bryce Thomson- Trustee
  • Peter Ewen - Trustee

For information about the Trust, please see wcept.org.nz